Rotman School of Management

Main Content

Seminars

The Finance Area invites academics from around the world to present their research and findings. The seminars are usually held on Fridays from 10:30-12:00

Finance

Seminar Date Time Room Speaker Topic
Wed, Sep. 05, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1030 Davidson Heath
University of Utah

Passive Investors are Passive Monitors

Wed, Sep. 12, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1035 Nan Li
Rotman School of Management

Initial Coin Offerings: The Effect of Blockchain Innovation on the Amount of Funds Raised

Fri, Sep. 14, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Federica Clerici
Rotman School of Management

Maturity Transformation, Nominal Debt, and Monetary Policy

Wed, Sep. 19, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1030 Wenqian Huang
Bank for International Settlements (BIS) in Basel, Switzerland

Central Counterparty Capitalization and Misaligned Incentives

Fri, Sep. 28, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Terrence Hendershott
University of California, Berkeley

Relationship Trading in OTC Markets

Wed, Oct. 03, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1030 Nadia Massoud
Melbourne Business School

Do Lenders Create Value for Shareholders in M&As?

Fri, Oct. 05, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Dmitriy Muravyev
Boston College

Understanding Returns to Short Selling Using Option-Implied Stock Borrowing Fees

Fri, Oct. 12, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Joel Peress
INSEAD

Glued to the TV: Distracted Investors and Stock Market Liquidity

Wed, Oct. 17, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1030 Andrada Bilan
University of Zurich, Department of Banking and Finance

Credit Supply Shocks and Human Capital: Evidence from a Change in Accounting Norms

Fri, Oct. 19, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Christoph Maximilian Schiller
Rotman School of Management

Global Supply-Chain Networks and Corporate Social Responsibility

Fri, Oct. 26, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Nikolai Roussanov
University of Pennsylvania

Marketing Mutual Funds

Wed, Oct. 31, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1030 Tobias Sichert
Goethe University, Frankfurt

The Pricing Kernel is U-shaped

Wed, Nov. 07, 2018 12:00PM - 1:30 PM 151 Yan Xiong
Rotman School of Management

TBA

Fri, Nov. 09, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Liu Yang
University of Maryland

TBA

Wed, Nov. 14, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM TBA Pat Akey
Rotman School of Management

TBA

Fri, Nov. 16, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 374 Ali Sharifkhani
Rotman School of Management

TBA

Wed, Nov. 21, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM LL1030 Nora Pankratz
Maastricht University

TBA

Wed, Dec. 12, 2018 12:00PM - 1:00 PM TBA Lucyna Górnicka
International Monetary Fund, Washington, US

TBA

Fri, Dec. 14, 2018 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 151 Jonathan B. Cohn
The University of Texas, Austin

TBA

Fri, Mar. 01, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Lauren H. Cohen
Harvard Business School

TBA

Fri, Mar. 08, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Brian Melzer
Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College

TBA

Fri, Mar. 15, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Ohad Kadan
Wasghington University in St. Louis

TBA

Fri, Mar. 22, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Thierry Foucault
HEC, Paris

TBA

Wed, Apr. 10, 2019 12:00PM - 1:00 PM TBA Deniz Erdemlioglu
IESEG School of Management

TBA

Fri, Apr. 12, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Matt Billett
Indiana University

TBA

Fri, Apr. 26, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM 142 Christine Parlour
University of California, Berkeley

TBA

Fri, May. 03, 2019 10:30AM - 12:00 PM TBA Ran Duchin
University of Washington

TBA

© Rotman School of ManagementAASCB