Main Content

Business Edge Finance

Business Edge Finance

In 7 months, gain the critical skills to accelerate your career to the next level.

The world of finance is evolving at a rapid pace. To become a senior leader, push yourself to communicate the value of your international experience, develop an inclusive and strategic brand, and connect with industry mentors.

 

Incorporating corporate finance, leadership, and advanced communication, Business Edge Finance utilizes a variety of learning tools to propel you into your dream career in Canada.

 

If that sounds like you, join the Business Edge Finance program to transform your career and change the way you think, take action, and lead. 

 


About the program

Key highlights:

  • Earn a certificate from the Rotman School of Management
  • Gain visibility and become an influencer in your organization
  • Gain new insights and apply them immediately to work
  • Develop extensive peer networks and learn from thought leaders
  • Learn about the innovations that will shape the future of the sector

 


Program Dates

February 12 - August 9, 2022

Full schedule below

Program fee

$3,200* + HST

*Financial support available


Participant profile

Middle to senior management experience outside of Canada

Canadian finance industry experience and aspiring to advance into leadership positions.

A growth mindset and a strong commitment to be flexible, open to receiving feedback, and taking action.


Register for an information session →

Thursday, January 20, 6PM

Thursday, January 27, 6PM

Apply now →

Application Deadline: February 10, 2022

Program Themes 

Advanced Communication

Start being seen as a leader by learning how to use impactful language.

Learn the nuances of inclusive language.

 

Choose strategies that help you connect with people of diverse backgrounds.

Intercultural Intelligence

Develop an in-depth understanding of your cultural values, interaction style, and how they affect your interactions.

 

Learn to adapt behaviours across cultures while staying authentic to core values.

 

Explore the dynamics of leveraging the diversity of teams as a leader.

Corporate Finance

Learn about innovations that will shape the future of finance: corporate finance, sustainable finance, and innovation in finance.

Career Management

Recalibrate and manage your career.

 

Rebrand your international experience for the Canadian market. 

Program dates and schedule

  • Instructor lead webinars on Tuesday evenings and on 13 Saturday mornings 
  • 8-10 hours per week of self-paced online study.
  • Dedicated mentoring program, employer guest lectures, and online networking opportunities with peers.
Date Session
Saturday Feb 12 2021 Orientation
Tuesday Feb 15 2021 It's Possible - Developing a Pathway to Success (INSPIRE)
Saturday Feb 19 2021
Tuesday Feb 22 2021 Intercultural Competence: Unwritten Rules
Saturday Feb 26 2021
Tuesday March 1 2021 Communication: Authentic Communication
Saturday March 5 2021 Intercultural Competence: Intercultural Communication Competence
Tuesday March 8 2021 Communication: Small Talk and the Art of Conversation
Saturday March 12 2021 Communication: Networking (Leveraging your network & Network Map)
Tuesday March 15 2021 Using StrengthsFinder to Communicate Your Value
Saturday March 19 2021 Intercultural Competence: Building Relationships
Tuesday March 22 2021 Your Secret Sauce - What makes you unique? (DISCOVER)
Saturday March 26 2021 Resume Writing
Tuesday March 29 2021 Communication: Brand Congruency
Saturday Apr 2 2021
Tuesday Apr 5 2021 Information is Power - How to Gather the Information You Need to Succeed (DISCOVER)
Saturday Apr 9 2021 Intercultural Competence: Developing Intercultural Competency
Tuesday Apr 12 2021 Communication: Building Relationships
Saturday Apr 16 2021
Tuesday Apr 19 2021 Intercultural Competence: Building Inclusive Teams
Saturday Apr 23 2021
Tuesday Apr 26 2021 Communication: Leading effective team meetings
Saturday May 3 2021
Tuesday May 7 2021 Communication: Concise and Inclusive Writing
Saturday May 10 2021 Looking Ahead - Taking Action and Staying Accountable. Action Plan Presentations
Tuesday May 14 2021 Communication: Presentation Skills Boot Camp
Saturday May 17 2021
Tuesday May 21 2021 Salary Negotiation Skills
Saturday May 24 2021
Tuesday May 28 2021 Emotional Intelligence
Saturday May 31 2021 Interview Boot Camp
Tuesday June 4 2021 LinkedIn
Saturday June 7 2021
Tuesday June 11 2021 Difficult Conversations 1
Saturday June 14 2021 Difficult Conversations 2
Tuesday June 18 2021 Finance TBD
Saturday June 21 2021 Finance TBD
Tuesday June 25 2021 Finance TBD
Saturday June 28 2021
Tuesday July 2 2021
Saturday July 5 2021 Finance TBD
Tuesday July 9 2021 Finance TBD
Saturday July 12 2021
Tuesday July 16 2021 Career Accelerator Workshop 1
Saturday July 19 2021 Info Interview Bootcamp
Tuesday July 23 2021 Career Accelerator Workshop 2
Saturday July 26 2021 Final Presentation Feedback
Tuesday July 30 2021 Career Accelerator Workshop 3
Saturday August 2 2021
Tuesday August 6 2021
Saturday August 9 2021 Final Presentations

Faculty and instructors

Jia Lin XieWalid Hejazi >>

Associate Professor of Economic Analysis and Policy
Academic Director

Jia Lin XieAndreas Park >>

Professor of Finance, Department of Management
Research Director, Financial Innovation Lab

Jia Lin XieMichael Kobrin >>

Founder, Creaity

Jia Lin XieMelissa Magder >>

Career Coach, Cultures in Motion
Advisor of Strategic Initiatives, Region of Peel

Jia Lin XieLiza Robertson >>

Instructor, University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies

Jia Lin XieCarolyn Meacher >>

Chief People Officer, dentsu international

Sarah Neville >>
Founder and Principal of Open Line

 

Fees and payment

PROGRAM FEE

$3,200* + HST

*Financial support available

Included:

  • Tuition
  • All Program materials
  • Completion certificate
  • Online networking opportunities

PAYMENT

A deposit of $416 of the program fee is required at the time of application.  The balance of the program fee will be due after the program start date. 

CANCELLATION POLICY

Please review the full version of our APPLICATION POLICIES » for cancellation information.

TAX INFORMATION – EMPLOYMENT-RELATED TRAINING

If the Program is employment-related training, Rotman must receive a letter from the employer confirming that the Program constitutes such training within the meaning of Canada Revenue Agency Interpretation Bulletin IT-470R.  Generally, the Bulletin states that where the training is taken for the benefit of the employer, there is no taxable benefit to the employee.

If the tuition fee is paid for by the employer, it is the employer’s responsibility to determine whether or not the fees paid on behalf of the individual is a taxable benefit and should be included on his/her T4 slip.

TAX INFORMATION – NON-EMPLOYMENT-RELATED TRAINING

If an employer has not sanctioned that the Program is being taken for employment reasons, any discounts are taxable benefits to the individual participant and should be included on the individual’s tax return.

Technical requirements

Technical Requirements

This program will be delivered virtually over Zoom. This program requires:

  • A stable internet connection
  • The latest version of the Google Chrome internet browser
  • A Zoom account (sign up for free)
  • A web camera or computer/laptop that has a built in web camera, and the use of a microphone



Have a question?

Contact us.

Intercultural Skills Lab
Rotman School of Management
BusinessEdge@Rotman.Utoronto.Ca